Mission statement

Young people who have made mistakes must be given a chance to change their behaviour and to find a way out of violence. Short-term pedagogical measures and behavioural conditioning does not work. The violent subculture is well-organised, and once you are involved it is difficult to break away. A relapse into old behaviour patterns can be prevented only by stable relationships and transferring new skills into everyday life.

What do young people who only know humiliation and violence need to experience in order to change their behaviour? Based on our many years of experience in working with violence-prone adolescents and young adults we have developed the concept of Verantwortungspädagogik® (responsible pedagogy). The approach developed by Violence Prevention Network is an integrated approach that effects a change in behaviour by teaching young people how to be responsible in their dealings with themselves and others.

Donations

Donations are welcome!

Account:
IBAN: DE14100205000001118800
BIC: BFSWDE33BER
Bank für Sozialwirtschaft

To Online-Donation Form

The pedagogical concept is explicitly based on a non-confrontational approach. Acceptance and preserving dignity facilitates understanding – not sympathy – and explains actions – rather than justifying them. The approach of responsible pedagogy is not confined to the individual, rather, it gradually includes the person’s environment and important family members. Furthermore, the concept provides for longer-term support rather than being limited to the period in which punitive and educational measures are enforced. It has a direct effect on the young people’s everyday life, leisure time and working life. In other words, whenever necessary the educationalists continue to provide young people with support even after their prison term or educational programme.

A central element here is the offer of a relationship. To ensure that this offer of a relationship can result in a change of behaviour, the young people undergo curricular training that encompasses elements from the psychology of learning, cognitivism and humanistic psychology; by involving individuals from the young people’s family and social environment this also has a systemic impact. Behavioural changes are not an immediate consequence of personal decisions, rather they depend on context and situation and on the outcome of certain negotiations and processes.

A brochure about our work
Brochure Deradicalisation, Intervention, Prevention
Brochure Deradicalisation, Intervention, Prevention
Download

Junge Menschen, die Fehler begangen haben, müssen eine Chance erhalten, ihr Verhalten zu ändern und einen Ausweg aus der Gewalt zu finden. Kurzzeitpädagogische, verhaltenskonditionierende Maßnahmen greifen hier nicht. Die Gewaltszene ist gut organisiert und wer einmal dabei ist, für den ist ein Ausstieg schwer. Den Rückfall in alte Verhaltensmuster verhindern nur stabile Beziehungen und der Transfer von Lernerfolgen in den Lebensalltag.

Welche Erfahrungen muss ein Jugendlicher, der bisher nur Demütigung und Gewalt kennt, machen, um sein Verhalten zu ändern? Basierend auf jahrelanger Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit gewaltbereiten Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen haben wir das Konzept der Verantwortungspädagogik® entwickelt. Der von Violence Prevention Network entwickelte Ansatz versteht sich ganzheitlich und bewirkt eine Verhaltensveränderung hin zum verantwortungsbewußten Umgehen mit sich und anderen.

Das pädagogische Konzept beruht auf einem explizit nicht-konfrontativen Ansatz. Akzeptanz und der Verzicht auf Demütigung dienen dazu, Verstehen - nicht Verständnis - zu ermöglichen und Handlungen zu erklären - nicht zu rechtfertigen. Der verantwortungspädagogische Ansatz beschränkt sich nicht alleine auf die Person, sondern bezieht sukzessive das Umfeld und wichtige Angehörige mit ein. Er sieht zudem eine längerfristige Betreuung vor und bleibt nicht auf den Zeitraum der strafenden wie erzieherischen Maßnahmen beschränkt. Er wirkt unmittelbar in Alltag, Freizeit und Arbeit hinein. D.h., die PädagogInnen bleiben den Jugendlichen bei Bedarf auch nach Auslaufen der Haftzeit oder Maßnahme erhalten.

Zentral ist in diesem Zusammenhang das Beziehungsangebot. Damit dieses Beziehungsangebot in einer Verhaltensveränderung resultieren kann, erfolgt ein curriculares Training, das Elemente aus lernpsychologischen Ansätzen, dem Kognitivismus und der humanistischen Psychologie beinhaltet und durch die Einbeziehung von Personen aus dem familiären und sozialen Umfeld einem systemischen Handeln entspricht. Verhaltensveränderungen sind nicht unmittelbar die Folge persönlicher Entscheidungen, sondern abhängig von Kontext und Situation und das Ergebnis von Aushandlungen und Prozessen.

Über uns

Titelbild VPN Broschuere webweb

Inhalte, Zielgruppen, Maßnahmen - Die Broschüre über unsere Arbeit zum Download.

Online Spenden

Zum Spendenformular >>

Spendenkonto Bank für Sozialwirtschaft:

IBAN: DE14100205000001118800

BIC: BFSWDE33BER

 

Warum spenden?

Bußgelder zuweisen

Violence Prevention Network e. V.
Postbank Berlin
IBAN: DE 41 1001 0010 0000 7051 01
BIC: PBNKDEFF

Konto-Nr. 705 101
BLZ 100 100 10

Wofür Bußgelder?