Trias Berlin

New approaches to multiprofessional collaboration in extremism prevention

TRIAS Berlin bridges the gaps between pedagogy, social work and the psychological and therapeutic occupations in the field of extremism prevention. Through its networking activities, it offers a range of interdisciplinary prevention measures. Within the scope of the model project and collaboration of Violence Prevention Network and Fachstelle Extremismus und Psychologie, it develops ways of involving psychotherapists in the field of extremism prevention as mental health experts. Their role will be based on the conciliatory work performed in similar contexts.

Components of the Berlin model

Contact and advice centre
Violence Prevention Network is establishing a psychotherapeutic contact and advice centre that offers conciliatory case advice to social pedagogues as and when needed. In addition, it is developing distancing and reintegration assistance and family counselling services with psychotherapeutic support, which will be available on an appointment basis and in the form of acute interventions or short therapies. When needed, clients may be referred to longer-term psychotherapeutic support.

Multiprofessional network
The contact and advice centre works with a network of psychotherapists offering inpatient and outpatient support. It expands its network as needed. Its members contribute by developing quality standards, offering consultation services on questions of occupational law, providing intervision and supervision, and coordinating referrals to psychotherapists by contacting institutions and outpatient clinics.

Patients with radical tendencies
The project team is also setting up a dedicated advice service for psychotherapists who have noticed radical tendencies in their patients. This will facilitate a transfer of knowledge and experience that also covers interdisciplinary aspects. TRIAS issues briefing papers on the psychological and psychoanalytical aspects underlying radicalisation and extremism, also touching upon aspects of tertiary prevention. Plans include a series of lectures aimed at psychotherapeutic institutes, specialist associations and professionals in the field of prevention and the associated regulatory structures.

Professional exchange
TRIAS engages in an interdisciplinary and academic exchange with professionals in the field of extremism prevention and deradicalisation. The project represents its concept and makes specialist information and experiences available.

Junge Menschen sitzen in Stuhlkreis zusammen
© Fotolia.com/Photographee.eu

Social necessity

TRIAS adds a psychological and psychotherapeutic dimension to the existing support services for individuals who are ready to distance themselves from radical scenes and reintegrate into society. Previously, these services were offered on a social and pedagogic basis only. The purpose of TRIAS is to support the process of deradicalisation and rehabilitation by making psychotherapeutic support and treatment available. Family members of radicalised young people are encouraged to seek advice from the project. It also responds to the need for multiprofessional services aimed at reintegrating people with children who have returned from formerly IS-occupied regions into society. Structures management of returnees requires local psychotherapeutic providers who can treat traumatised or psychologically damaged children, teenagers and adults appropriately. TRIAS integrates those providers into a professional network and offers them specialist advice as and when needed. It is also partnered with the NEXUS (Psychologisch-therapeutisches Netzwerk Justiz und Extremismus) project, which works with the correctional facilities and probation support services in Berlin.

Contact

Violence Prevention Network gGmbH
Alt-Reinickendorf 25
13407 Berlin

+49 30 917 05 464
TRIAS Berlin is a part of the deradicalisation network of the Berlin Senate Department for the Interior and Sport. It is funded by the Berlin State Commission against Violence within the scope of the Berlin State Programme for the Prevention of Radicalisation (Berliner Landesprogramm Radikalisierungsprävention). The subproject TRIAS Community is funded by the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community.

TRIAS Berlin

Neue Wege der multiprofessionellen Kooperation in der Extremismusprävention

TRIAS Berlin schlägt für die Extremismusprävention die Brücke zwischen Pädagogik, sozialer Arbeit und den psychologisch-therapeutisch tätigen Berufsgruppen, um durch Vernetzung das Angebot von interdisziplinär geprägten Maßnahmen der Extremismusprävention bereitzustellen. Im Rahmen des Modell- und Kooperationsprojekts zwischen Violence Prevention Network und der Fachstelle Extremismus und Psychologie wird erprobt, wie psychologische Psychotherapeut*innen als Expert*innen für “mental health” in die Extremismusprävention einbezogen werden können. Die Orientierung dafür bietet eine Konsiliar- und Liaisontätigkeit, wie sie auch in anderen Arbeitsfeldern etabliert ist.

Bestandteile des Berliner Modells

Kontakt- und Anlaufstelle
Violence Prevention Network richtet eine psychotherapeutische Kontakt- und Anlaufstelle ein, welche den Sozialpädagog*innen bei Bedarf konsiliarische Fallhilfen anbietet. Zudem wird das Arbeitsfeld einer psychotherapeutisch unterstützten Distanzierungs- und Ausstiegshilfe sowie Familienberatung entwickelt. Diese hält ein Sprechstundenangebot vor und führt Akuthilfen oder Kurzzeittherapien durch. Bei Bedarf findet eine Vermittlung in länger angelegte Psychotherapien statt.

Multiprofessionelles Netzwerk
Die Kontakt- und Anlaufstelle arbeitet mit einem Netzwerk ambulant und stationär tätiger Psychotherapeut*innen zusammen, das bedarfsorientiert weiter ausgebaut wird. Kolleg*innen aus dem Netzwerk begleiten die Arbeit, indem sie an den Qualitätsstandards mitwirken, in berufsrechtlichen Fragen beraten, Intervisions- und Supervisionsmöglichkeiten anbieten sowie bei der Vermittlung in Psychotherapien helfen, z. B. durch Kontakte zu psychotherapeutischen Instituten und ihren Ambulanzen.

Patient*innen mit Radikalisierungsdynamiken
Die Mitarbeitenden im Projekt richten zudem eine Spezialsprechstunde für Psychotherapeut*innen ein, wenn diese bei ihren Patient*innen Radikalisierungsdynamiken wahrnehmen. Durch dieses Angebot wird ein Wissens- und Erfahrungstransfer möglich, der auch interdiszplinäre Aspekte einschließt. TRIAS erarbeitet Themenpapiere zu psychologischen und psychoanalytischen Grundlagen von Radikalisierung und Extremismus bzw. Aspekten der Tertiärprävention. Vom geplanten Vortragsangebot sollen neben psychotherapeutischen Instituten und Fachgesellschaften auch Akteur*innen aus der Präventionslandschaft und den Regelstrukturen profitieren können.

Fachaustausch
TRIAS bringt sich zudem in den interdisziplinären und wissenschaftlichen Fachaustausch mit Akteur*innen der Extremismusprävention und Deradikalisierung ein. Dort vertritt das Projekt sein Konzept und stellt Fachinformationen sowie Erfahrungen zur Verfügung.

Junge Menschen sitzen in Stuhlkreis zusammen
© Fotolia.com/Photographee.eu

Gesellschaftliche Notwendigkeit

Durch TRIAS wird das bisher vor allem sozialpädagogisch geprägte Unterstützungsangebot für distanzierungs- und ausstiegsbereite Personen durch einen psychologisch-psychotherapeutischen Ansatz erweitert. Anliegen von TRIAS ist es, den Prozess der Deradikalisierung und Rehabilitation durch den Zugang zu psychotherapeutischer Beratung und Behandlung zu unterstützen. An das Projekt können sich auch Familienangehörige radikalisierter junger Menschen wenden. Zudem wird auf die Notwendigkeit reagiert, für die Rehabilitation von Rückkehrer*innen mit Kindern aus den IS-Gebieten ein multiprofessionelles Angebot zu unterbreiten. Denn für ein strukturiertes Rückkehrmanagement braucht es lokale Anlaufstellen bei Psychotherapeut*innen, die fachkundige Behandlungen von traumatisierten bzw. psychisch stark belasteten Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen durchführen können. Diese werden durch TRIAS in ein kollegiales Netzwerk einbezogen und erhalten bei Bedarf fachliche Beratung. TRIAS ist zudem mit dem Projekt „NEXUS – Psychologisch-therapeutisches Netzwerk Justiz und Extremismus“ verknüpft, welches mit Berliner Vollzugsanstalten und der Bewährungshilfe kooperiert.

Kontakt

Violence Prevention Network gGmbH
Alt-Reinickendorf 25
13407 Berlin

030 917 05 464
Das Projekt TRIAS Berlin wird gefördert durch die Landeskommission Berlin gegen Gewalt im Rahmen des Berliner Landesprogramms Radikalisierungsprävention. Das Teilprojekt TRIAS Community wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat.