Deradicalisation in prison

With its deradicalisation programmes, Violence Prevention Network has devoted itself from the outset to effectively combat the multiplicator effect of correctional facilities for radicalisation processes or their use as a hunting ground of extremist recruitment. Whether or not an extremist or radicalised perpetrator continues to follow the convictions that led to his incarceration after his release is less a matter of ideology than the people he interacts with during imprisonment. Due to the differing requirements in the German prison system, Violence Prevention Network therefore offers measures of prevention and deradicalisation.

© Violence Prevention Network/Klages

Prevention measures target early detection or diagnosis of radicalisation and at the reversal of incipient radicalisation processes of imprisoned young people. The offer includes prevention workshops or group training lasting several months followed by stabilisation coaching (max. 1 year) after release.

The deradicalisation of highly radicalised offenders with a potential terrorist background (e.g. Syria returners, members of terrorist cells in Germany) is different. These cases require active initiation of deradicalisation and dissociation processes as well as disengagement assistance, as they rarely have the intrinsic motivation to break away from their beliefs. To make matters worse, they are usually influenced by immense mistrust of state institutions and representatives of the majority society, which significantly increases the access barrier. The individual training is therefore usually initiated by the recommendation of judicial authorities or the result of a court order.

In terms of content, both the prevention workshops, as well as the group and individual training aim to establish a stable working relationship based on trust, to initiate critical reflection and cognitive processes, but also to develop perspectives and to establish stable support systems for the period after being released from prison to ensure future dissociation from the extremist environment.

© Violence Prevention Network/Klages

Since 2001, more than 1,300 juvenile violent offenders at risk of extremism have completed Violence Prevention Network’s deradicalisation programme, whose original target group (right-wing extremist violent offenders) was expanded in 2006 to include teenagers at risk of being influenced by Islamist extremism, and in 2011 to adult offenders with terrorist background.

In 2015, the BMFSJ commissioned Violence Prevention Network to develop structural measures for deradicalisation in correctional facilities. In partnership with the cooperating entities, Violence Prevention Network is coordinating the joint development of nationwide standards and quality criteria for radicalisation prevention and deradicalisation in correctional facilities and the probationary system.

Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug

Violence Prevention Network hat sich mit seinen Deradikalisierungsprogrammen von Beginn an der Frage gewidmet, wie man dem Strafvollzug als Durchlauferhitzer für Radkalisierungsprozesse bzw. Jagdgebiet extremistischer Rekrutierung wirkungsvoll begegnen kann.

Ob ein extremistischer oder radikalisierter Straftäter die Überzeugungen, aufgrund derer er straffällig geworden ist, nach seiner Entlassung wieder mit in die Freiheit nimmt und weiterverfolgt, ist weniger eine Frage der Ideologie, als der Menschen, mit denen er während der Inhaftierung in Beziehung tritt.

Angesichts der unterschiedlich vorhandenen Bedarfslagen im bundesdeutschen Justizvollzug bietet Violence Prevention Network deshalb sowohl Maßnahmen der Prävention als auch der Deradikalisierung an.

© Violence Prevention Network/Klages

Maßnahmen der Prävention zielen auf die Früherkennung bzw. Diagnostik von Radikalisierung und auf die Umkehrung beginnender Radikalisierungsprozesse inhaftierter Jugendlicher. Angeboten werden Präventions-Workshops oder mehrmonatige Gruppentrainings mit anschließendem Stabilisierungscoaching (max. 1 Jahr) nach der Haftentlassung.

Anders stellt sich die Deradikalisierung hochradikalisierter Straftäter*innen mit potenziell terroristischem Hintergrund (z. B. Syrienrückkehrer*innen, Mitglieder von Terrorzellen im Bundesgebiet) dar. Hier geht es um die aktive Einleitung von Deradikalisierungs- und Distanzierungsprozessen sowie Ausstiegsbegleitung, da diese selten über die intrinsische Motivation verfügen, sich von ihren Überzeugungen zu lösen. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass sie zumeist von immensem Misstrauen gegenüber staatlichen Institutionen und Vertretern der Mehrheitsgesellschaft geprägt sind, was die Zugangshürde erheblich erhöht.

Das individuelle Einzeltraining erfolgt deshalb in der Regel auf Empfehlung seitens der Justizbehörden oder in Folge einer gerichtlichen Auflage. Inhaltlich zielen sowohl die Präventions-Workshops als auch die Gruppen- und Einzeltrainings auf die Herstellung einer stabilen Arbeits- und Vertrauensbeziehung, die Einleitung von kritischen Reflexions- und Erkenntnisprozessen, aber auch die Entwicklung von Perspektiven und den Aufbau stabiler Unterstützungssysteme für die Zeit nach der Haftentlassung, um auch die künftige Distanzierung vom extremistischen Milieu zu gewährleisten.

© Violence Prevention Network/Klages

Seit 2001 haben über 1400 jugendliche, extremistisch gefährdete Gewalttäter*innen das evaluierte Deradikalisierungprogramm von Violence Prevention Network absolviert, dessen ursprüngliche Zielgruppe – rechtsextremistische Gewaltstraftäter – in Folge einer umfassenden Erweiterung 2006 zunächst auf islamistisch gefährdete Jugendliche und 2011 auf Straftäter*innen mit terroristischem Hintergrund im Erwachsenenvollzug ausgeweitet wurde.

2015 beauftragte das BMFSJ Violence Prevention Network mit der Entwicklung von Strukturmaßnahmen zur Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug. In Zusammenarbeit mit den kooperierenden Trägern koordiniert Violence Prevention Network die gemeinsame Entwicklung bundesweiter Standards und Qualitätskriterien für Radikalisierungsprävention und Deradikalisierung in Strafvollzug und Bewährungshilfe.

Downloads:
Broschüre Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug DE
Broschüre Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug DE
Download
Flyer Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug DE
Flyer Deradikalisierung im Strafvollzug DE
Download